Blog, No-Bake

No Bake Chocolate Chip Coconut Almond Butter Energy Bites

The main purpose of this site was for me to be able to share quick, healthy recipes that would be feasible for college students.  College students often do not have all of the necessities (such as a kitchen if you live in a dorm) so I want to share recipes that do not require a lot of maintenance so they can be enjoyed by everyone!

For my Strategic Presentation Mid-term project I created a how-to video for a “No-Bake” treat.  In my opinion this is an ideal healthy treat for college students because they often don’t have the luxury of an oven.  There are also a lot of health benefits that come with these treats.   These little bites are packed with energy, healthy fats, and omega-3 (from the chia and flax)!  I created a short introduction in the beginning of my video that included a little bit of information about myself and Fun and Foodie.  Following this introduction I provided a video of me making the treats.  I sped up these video clips so my audience did not get bored with the video content.  This lead to me having extra time at the end of the video.  In order to make up for this time I recorded myself again reflecting on my experience and talked a little bit more about Fun and Foodie.

Overall, this project was a fun experience.  I liked how I was able to do something that I genuinely enjoy and share it with other people.  I find it enjoyable to bake, so it is a win-win when I can make something that is delicious, healthy, and share it with others! I ran into a few technical difficulties with iMovie because of my unfamiliarity with the application but I was able to sort these out.

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1½ cups of organic oven toasted quick oats

½ cup of ground flax seed

1 tablespoon of black chia seeds

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes

½ cup of raw honey

1 cup of almond butter

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

½ cup of semi sweet chocolate morsels

Instructions:

  1. Combine all ingredients!  Only use 1/2 cup of the coconut flakes, the rest is for the topping
  2. After, form the mixture into 1 inch balls.  If you find that the balls are not sticking together you can add more almond butter or honey.
  3. Roll the balls in unsweetened coconut flakes.
  4. Chill for at least one hour!
  5. Enjoy 🙂

Video Audio:

Garageband: Havana

“GarageBand Software. You may use the Apple and third party audio loop content (Audio Content), contained in or otherwise included with the Apple Software, on a royalty-free basis, to create your own original music compositions or audio projects. You may broadcast and/or distribute your own music compositions or audio projects that were created using the Audio Content, however, individual audio loops may not be commercially or otherwise distributed on a standalone basis, nor may they be repackaged in whole or in part as audio samples, sound effects or music beds.”

 

Leave a comment